Everybody talks about Democratic messaging. Now, you can do something about it!

Framing the Roe v Wade Decision, Monday, June 27

5pm Pacific/Arizona, 6pm Mountain, 7pm Central, 8pm Eastern 

I will be joining the Connections Lab again Monday for a discussion about how to reframe the debate around abortion, now that the Supreme Court has overturned Roe v Wade. I will present the framing recommendations from my newsletters and we will discuss strategies for taking back the debate. 

Register on EventBrite here. 


TRAINING: THE ART OF MESSAGING

Learn how to take back the public debate in this game-changing training for political communications professionals and other Democratic Party stakeholders.

A single two-hour session for political professionals, activists and others who want to improve our messaging, stop playing defense and get control of the public debate!

Antonia Scatton is an expert in messaging and framing, with more than 25 years of experience working with political campaigns and advocacy organizations.

Antonia worked extensively with George Lakoff, messaging guru, pioneer of Cognitive Linguistics and author of the best-selling book Don’t Think of an Elephant, to develop this program. Learn more.


The first rule of framing is:
Don’t educate. Connect.
Communicate what you want people to understand in terms of something they already understand and have strong feelings about!

Learning from Lakoff

Professor Lakoff’s discoveries in cognitive science elevate his work on political framing from “good advice” to “critical truths we ignore at our own peril”.

We have to understand how public opinion changes and the structure of our competing moral systems if we are to succeed in reaching people and overturning the Right’s dominance over our public debate. Learn more

What is Framing?


Framing and re-framing are about getting people to see a particular situation (or reality as a whole) the way that we do, and getting people to use our values and principles as the criteria to judge right and wrong in the public debate. Learn more


Blueprint for a Better Party

The Blueprint is a process to build capacity, improve services to candidates, develop leadership at all levels, increase volunteer participation, develop year round community presence and voter engagement, and improve the party brand both internally and externally.

I developed this Blueprint in 2018 with the leadership of the state Democratic Party of Arizona, to be deployed through the 2020 elections. Learn more


Recommend

Want to fix Democratic messaging? Take this awesome framing and message strategy webinar with Antonia Scatton. #Lakoff